Brief football history
The Club was founded in 1908, initially to provide a social meeting place for the
local community which were mainly Coal Mining families. Many of the people
involved with the club, today, have a family association that dates as far back as the early 1900’s.
ARTeSYN® Biosolutions’ COO/ Director, Dean Richards and his father Malcolm have been with the
club for more than 50 years, with Dean, himself, playing for the junior teams as a youth.
Since the start of the season from 2000 – 2001 has the clubhouse, and its changing
facilities, been at its current location. The season started off with
only the changing rooms completed, but by the end of the season the club house
was completed. Back in 1908, tin baths were used for washing
after a match, if you were even lucky enough to get one; where as now, the club can
boast separate changing facilities with their own showers plus a separate
changing facility for match day officials.
The club’s ethos in recent years has been to provide the community with a
facility that it can be proud of, and this is apparent with the
memorial garden, which can be seen upon arrival to the club house.
The garden is a mark of respect to members who have sadly passed away, and had
committed themselves to Cwmffrwdoer; in part, making the club what it is today.
Not only does the club boast fine changing facilities, but suitable club rooms
for after-match refreshments, cabaret evenings and private functions. All those
members and non-members, who have visited the club have remarked on its
appearance and quality throughout.
The Club currently boasts 4 Teams consisting of – 1st Team – Gwenty Div 1
2nd Team – Gwent Central Div 1
U18s – Gwent County Youth League
U10s Torfaen Junior League
Last Year 2015/2016 season our 1st team were runners up in the Gwent County Div
1 and Winners of the Gwent County Senior Cup – The Clubs most successful season
in its 108 year history.
Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/Cwmffrwdoer/
Twitter : @cydoer